Yabba's Thoughts

Genshiken: Mini Review

My Interests in Otaku

Otaku have always interested me. This is because of the huge effect they have on the creation and culture of anime. So to help me get a view of otaku life, I checked out Genshiken, and I thing you should too.

About Genshiken

Released in 2002, Genshiken is all about the otaku club of the same name and the people in it. While most people in the club are huge otaku, there's always one or two who aren't to justify explanations. The manga starts out through the lens of a student named Kanji, who isn't sure if he's an otaku or not. The arc where he comes to accept himself as an otaku, while important for characterization, was a too long for me. But, the manga quickly improves from this, as it finds its footing in a routine that would define the series for me.

The Heart of Genshiken

This routine or cycle is the heart of Genshiken, and it's why I fell in love with the first half of the series. Here's how it goes:

  1. The mangaka introduces a character, and we see the gang's initial reactions to them.

  2. Some slice of life chapters happen.

  3. Along the way, the manga fleshes out the character, and we learn about the gang through how they react.

This while it sounds simple works wonders for the series writing and puts it a step above a lot of its peers.

The Art

A manga is be nothing without its art, and I'm glad to say that the art for Genshiken is great. Like any good art in a manga, it can play with, and add to the full range of emotions for the series. Yet the real star of the show is the meticulously detailed backgrounds. Every background (and there are a lot) has easter eggs and references. Sometimes its even foreshadowing. In the process, everything feels lived in, which gave me the view I was looking for, while adding to the characters.

The Second Season

Now if you're like me you may have already typed up the series to get a copy. But before you make any purchases, you noticed that there's a second part to the series, and got excited. But, I think it's worse. Well the art and comedy are still great, yet I still dropped it half way through, because of a change in writing. First off, nobody new is introduced for the first half. Second off the character development seems to slow to a stop because of this. Finally, I wasn't that interested in the hobbies of the main character. I'd be fine with it if I connected to the main characters. But I couldn't because of the previous problems mentioned. If doujinshis, or BL interest you, of if you want more after the first you should still check it out.

So if you want a vision of otaku life in college, the best option for you is Genshiken. You can get the first volume here.

#Manga #Reviews